Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

How to deal with fear in mixed status relationship
Mar 1, 2013

Hello, thank you for your wonderful site. I'm neg and I recently started a relationship with a pos guy. He's on therapy with viral load undetectable. We are deeply emotionally involved, though I had (and still have) a lot of concern regarding sex. It's my first time that I deal with hiv issues, and I really had to learn a lot in these 2 months. Up to now we only practiced mutual masturbation, he has performed (unprotected) oral sex on me (which as far as I know is an extremely low risk practice) and I have practiced oral sex on him using condoms. We have also fingered eachother and I don't think there were any cuts on our fingers. So I don't think that I was exposed to any significant risk. The problem is that now he would like to perform anal sex. I would like too, but I really really fear that the condom will break (even if I got those strong condoms specifically for anal). He says that he never ejaculates inside because he doesnt like it, so this should reduce the risk in the case of a condom failure. He also says that when the condom breaks he realizes it and pulls out immediatly and he considers this case as realitively safe. I'm really concerned about this. As far as I know if the condom breaks, ejaculation or not, I should immediatly ask for PEP. Unfortunately this anal sex issue is mining our relationship because I really don't know how to reduce my fears on this sex practice. The strong condoms are indeed extremely strong (I tried one and it took me over half an hour of stress and strain an