Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Needlestick injury
Aug 13, 2012

Hello,

I am a dentist and suffered a needlestick injury on my lower arm by one of my scalers when treating a patient and I would like to ask a few questions if that's alright..

The injury was deep enough to draw blood. I followed procedure, cleaned and soaped, asked patient if any known bloodborne viruses and said all was clear. Also, agreed to bloodtesting if necessary. Due to workload I did not attend Accident and Emergency until next morning. I informed the staff at the hospital that the patient was high risk but could not confirm as information was not offered by patient. The dental practice contacted the patient but could not reach as patient left for vacation but the patient's mother assured us that the patient will return in a few days and is aware and willing to take the test. I know that the chances of contracting something is very low even if the patient is HIV+, HCV+. I am vaccinated against HBV and had blood test prior to starting to work which was two months ago -the results where kept by the company that I am working for but I did not receive a copy so I don't know the exact level of my antibodies, which again I told the staff. If they weren't enough I would not be able to start working but still I should know.. Anyway no testing was done to confirm nor did they ask to see the results. I asked my practice manager erlier in the morning but I am still waiting on them.