Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Yep. I'm an Idiot.
Apr 30, 2012

I am a student doing lab rotations. Unfortunately this week, I got two total drops of blood and urine from separate patients in my eye after recapping an ESR tube and a urine tube. There were no eye goggles available for staff or shields to protect staff from potential exposures. I was so in shock and embarrassed that I didn't wash my eye out or report the incident to anyone. A couple of days after the exposure I had a fever, swollen lymph glands, a sore throat with chills and a productive cough. The symptoms subsided after a couple of days, leading me to think exposure could have been the result of the cold my husband had recently. Given that such mucosal transmission rates are relatively low but still plausible, my current plan of action is to order an HIV and Hep C test at the 1 month,3 month, and 6 month mark to screen for a potential exposure. I recently had unprotected sex with my husband who apparently didn't care about the risk. I realize this was a stupid decision, but I obviously was oblivious in the heat of the moment(damn hormones). Are there any symptoms I should watch out for if he was exposed to the virus or any advice you can give me to prevent further exposures? I now am wearing glasses to every rotation regardless if the staff wears them or not. Healthcare is obviously not as white and fuzzy as it appears to be on the surface. It's really cool to look at a disease until it splashes you in the face. Any parental advice you can give me other than insulating myself in a giant bubble and avoiding contact with anythi