Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

percentage of transmitting HIV infected blood thru a cut on hands
Sep 6, 2011

To Doctor Bob.

I am a nurse with patient newly diagnosed with HIV. Before he had this diagnosis, i happen to obtain blood samples from him to be send to laboratory for some routine tests.and by accident, some blood spilled on my cut hands. i have a very bad case of eczema on my hands, and get cut so easily. recently, i had a fever for few days and body ache, and i took antibiotic and some paracetamol to relieve it, and somehow i get a little better. but it doesnt stop me from worrying my chances of transmitting this virus. do i need to take some tests already now? or am i just panicking too much. please give me some advice. thank you.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello.

All occupational exposures should be reported to your occupational health division so that the incident can be documented and the exposure evaluated and treated if needed. If you had done this, you wouldn't be panicking now, as you would know exactly your level of risk and a follow-up plan of testing and/or treatment would have been instituted. As a nurse you should have a clear understanding of the policy and procedure to follow for blood-borne-pathogens exposure.