Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

possibility of hiv from a single exposure?
Aug 1, 2011

I am an engineering student from india. On 7th May i had sex with woman whom i met in disco. i used condom but it get tored in between the intercourse. It was a minute contact just for few seconds after that i discontinued. After a few days i noticed a red patch on my penis head and the tip of penis seems like swollen lips, i thought that it might be due to tight condom or it get hurt during sex. After a months a had dairreah which lasted for a day. After 20 days of this incident i started feeling feverish but the body temp remained between 98.5 to 99. Few days after i had mouth full canker sores and stomach full of gases.Then i visited to general physician but i did'nt disclosed him about my red swollen penis. He diagnosed it as F.U.O and prescribed cefixime 400mg for three days and it worked and i got well for few days. But again this feverish symptoms started with headache and congested nose in the morning.There is no swollen lymph nodes any where in the body.But sometimes i experience neck stiffness and itching of whole body which causes red rashes for few minutes. Again i visited the doctor and he prescribed ciprofloxcin 500mg for three days. Now its August and i am not feeling well. Red patch and swollen tip of penis is still there. I also have oral ulcers My question are:

1. Are these symptoms related to ARS or HIV?

2. when to get tested for HIV and what test?

3. What about my red swollen penis as i have heard that HIV infection has no symptoms on genital organs?