Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HCW with multiple exposures: I cant believe my "eyes"!
Jul 21, 2011

Dear Dr. Frascino, Please shed some light on this as I truly appreciate your advice. I am a dentist from Brazil who sustained multiple eye exposures during procedures. I know that it is difficult to believe, but I was wearing goggles in two occasions. I will summarize each accident: 1-I was wearing my regular spectacles when the water containing some blood managed to reach one of my eyes. I was treating a 13-year-old girl. As she was my cousin, it would be embarrassing to request an HIV test; 2-This time I had safety goggles over my regular spectacles. I was removing calculus on a 16-year-old boy when water and blood managed to reach one of my eyes. I could not believe that as I had 2 glasses on. I cleaned with water and requested a rapid HIV test from the boy according to local health authorities. He was HIV negative. 3-I was treating a 15-year-old girl who had received 2 liters of blood during a craniofacial surgery in the past. This time I was wearing 3 protections: my regular small spectacles, the safety goggle and a face shield. Somehow the air-water spray made its way till one of my eyes. There was no visible blood in the mouth, but the patient had a healing sutured incision from an extraction 5 days ago. It was a typical healing oral incision (with fibrin, plaque, pus and perhaps invisible blood). I could even feel how cold the water was when it reached my eye, so I am sure that my eye was exposed again. I cleaned with water and, this time, I was so embarrassed in front of my assistants