Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

risk of seroconversion in an occupational injury
Jun 13, 2011

Hi Doc RJ Franscino

Im a 5th year medical student who has had a needle stick injury, 3 days ago from a 4 day old infant of a Retroviral disease positive mother. The child is on nevarapine and the mother took PMTCT 4 weeks before labour.

my concern is that after i was pricked i was so shocked that i didnt follow all the correct procedures, i wiped the pricked area with cotton wool and stopped the bleeding and only reported the matter 6 hours later. it was a paediatric needle and it was not bloody. currently i am on the pep, and i am worried that i might have reported the matter too late. How fast does the virus replicate and taking my story into consideration, what are my chances of seroconverting in this regard? i am trying to keep a positive attitude and i know the risk of becoming infected from a needle stick injury is only about 0.3%, but i cant help but wonder.

thank you in advance

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello, Medical Student.

Your HIV-acquisition risk is very low, much lower than the 0.3% statistic you cite. This is because the infant was on antiretroviral therapy and the prick didn't sound severe (there's an increased risk with a deep puncture and/or with a large hollow-bore needle). It's also worth noting that if the mom took nevirapine to decrease the risk of mother-to-child transmission (MTCT), there's an excellent chance the baby is HIV negative.