Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Closeted guy with possible exposure and symptoms
Apr 16, 2011

Hello Dr. Bob,

I want to start by thanking you for helping so many worried wells. I know that you receive hundreds of emails everyday but please continue reading my message as I am very nervous and I need Dr. Bob style assessment (and hopefully reassurance). I wrote to you before but now I had some symptoms (including rash) that are really making me worried. As a background, I am a still closeted gay student and I have a phobia of getting HIV. That's why I don't really get involved sexually to avoid the risk. About 2.5 weeks ago I dated a guy (claimed to be negative many times but I later learned that hes rather promiscuous) which ended with protected receptive anal sex. Before that, however, he was rubbing his penis (uncovered) on my anus and at some point I noticed higher than normal pressure which caused me to freak out so I stopped him immediately. The push (maximum of 2-3 seconds) was not similar to an attempt for penetration but since Im very new to anal sex, Im afraid that slight penetration (1/4inch) might have occurred (he later claimed that nothing happened). There was no pain and the sensation was not similar to what I felt during anal sex later that night. After this incident, I am mentally a train wreck and I am still unable to sleep, eat or really function well.