Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Exposure to Eye
Apr 15, 2011

Dr.Franscino,

I am a student nurse. At my most recent clinical I was emptying out a JP drain from a patient's abdomen. Her drains had minimal fluids about 7cc, and they had been collecting for approximately 8 hours before I emptied it.

As I was pouring out the cups and rinsing them over the sink, I felt a small prick of pressure on my right eye. I'm not sure if it as my nerves or an actual splash since no other place on my face felt wet, just that one pin point on my eye.

I was afraid to bring it up to my clinical instructor because I didn't want to get in trouble for carelessness. I don't know what to do at this point. I will get tested in the next few days and do more follow up testing.

Do you have any advice or opinoin as far as my risks? I know that eye contamination is quite small, and I'm wondering if the fact that it's from a JP drain for 8 hours, being exposed to oxygen and not a core body temp (though it was on the patient's warm body surface) would also decrease the viral load?

I'm in a monogamous relationship with my boyfriend and now I'm scared about what to do!

Thank you for helping out a terrified student.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello Terrified Student,