Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Extremely worried - please help
Mar 19, 2011

Dr. Bob,

I am a married man who did something awful. About 9 days ago I got very drunk and had protected, receptive anal sex with a male of unknown status in an urban area. There was no oral of any kind or other contact, but there was fingering of my anus (fingers unprotected). As far as I know, the condom did not fail. I stopped the anal after only a few minutes and there was no ejaculation. I have never done anything like this ever before and am freaking the hell out.

About 4-5 days after possible exposure I started feeling swollen lymph nodes first in armpit and now in all areas. They are not hard or painful, more just general discomfort across neck, armpits, groin, stomach. This is consistent with everything I have read about lymphadenopathy which leads me to believe this can be nothing else besides HIV (I mean, really? mono? couldn't be). Too coincidental. I also have been unable to sleep for more than a couple hours at a time and have noticed some sweating at night. Not sure if this is related or due to anxiety. No fever or rash noted (yet). I have already noticed some tingling in my extremities and sweaty feet and palms.