Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

OCD under tratment, please help!
Jan 21, 2011

Ciao Dr. Bob, first of all: complimenti pe il tuo italiano. Perfetto, davvero. Sono italiano.

Here is the serious part of my letter. I am an OCD sufferer. I just started a CBT with exposure and response prevention. So, believe me, I think I can fight it, and I'm putting all my efforts on that.

I work in a hospital (...even DOCs get OCD!). Hospitals are not so clean and safe places... I know... I fear of transmitting bloodeborne diseases around me. I got some answers but I am always struggling for the truth. Ok I know it's a part of my OCD condition being always in need of reassurances... Nevertheless I agreed with my psyk that some more CORRECT information could do no harm to me, and should generate a good basis to start on.

You always tell that dry blood with HIV in is not really a problem... but what abot HCV and HBV??? I am puzzled. Me, myself, I am vaccinated (against HBV). Nevertheless, as I told you, I am overwhelemd by the fear of touching this nasty germs and trasmit them elsewhere with my hands (Hyper-responsibility OCD). e.g. I use my mobile phone in the hospital, some nasty germs can be on it... the virus can stick to my hands... and i can transmit it further on... then someone touches where I touched... where it's dirty, then touches his/her conjunctiva or other mucous membranes... what happens? Can he she get the illness (in particular hepatitis?)