Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

waiting on test, but what are my chances?
Dec 16, 2010

Hey Dr. Bob, First i want to start out by saying happy holidays and i really appreciate what you do on this forum. OK so to start i want to begin by telling you my story. I am a senior in college now but back when i was a sophomore i engaged in some pretty risky activity. As stupid as i was and as uneducated about the topic and how i thought it would never find me, i moved between two partners pretty quickly. One was a friend of mine i met through a friend and we used condoms but after a few times she assured me she was clean so we went on unprotected. Then second semester, i met a girl who was friends with the people next door and we started hanging out. Again we used condoms and again she said she was clean and we had unprotected. No matter what i was told i was an absolute IDIOT for not using protection. Turns out both were pretty promiscuous. Anyways at some point during my time with the second girl i came down with an awful illness after baseball practice one day. I remember my throat feeling a little itchy and i went back to the room took and nap and when i woke up i had such awful pains in my midsection (back), maybe it was my lymph nodes, that i could not even move. I almost cried. I don't recall if i had a fever or anything even though i very well could have. Anyways the next morning i was picked up by my parents and i was able to move around much better. Went to the doctor at home the next day as i was definitely feeling better and they took blood and tested for mono which i already had. The test came back negative and they said it was pr