Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Post-Exposure Prophylaxis, Occupational Exposure
Dec 10, 2010

Hi Dr Frascino, I am a medical resident and today suffered an occupational injury from an AIDS patient. I was placing a 20G IV when the patient jumped and it stuck my finger. The injury wasn't very deep, but I had a bit of blood from the puncture site when the glove came off, I washed it immediately with soap and water, and called our hotline and took my first dose of PEP (Truvada + boosted Reyataz) within 2 hours. I am continuing this diligently for 28 days, but I am honestly freaking out about this day and night, losing sleep. I have a wife and a child, and I can't help but worry about what will happen to them should I seroconvert. I want to know whether you have any data on whether PEP provides any additional protection beyond the 0.3% risk that I keep hearing? Please let me know what you think my chances are of getting HIV.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,