Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Question re: occupational exposure (edematous legs)
Nov 24, 2010

Hi, Dr. Bob! I combed the archives and couldn't find anything that was that similar to my situation so I figured I'd ask again (this is my 3rd try).

I am a nurse case manager and work with alot of individuals with HIV and Hepatitis C. I don't do direct care but I do visit people in their homes and encounter a variety of situations. A few days ago one of my clients (who has HIV and Hepatitis C) asked me to help her pull up her socks. She has congestive heart failure and her legs are very edematous. I bent down to assist her and in the process of helping her with her socks I touched her leg which was wet from clear, leaking edema. After I was done assisting her I immediately washed my hands and used hand sanitizer. I checked my hands and I didn't have any visible open areas or scratches on the part of my hands that touched her legs but I did have two scratches/paper cuts on the side of one of my fingers (although I think I may have gotten one of the scratches after the incident I'm not 100% sure). The client takes anti-retroviral medication and has had HIV for many years. I'm not sure what her viral load is at this point.