Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

ARS Window Period - Conflicting Info!
Nov 3, 2010

Hi, Dr. Rob!!

As a pre-med undergrad I have so much respect for you and everything you do for you people! Not too long ago I had a sexual encounter with a male of unknown status (he claims to be neg but who really knows - he was fairly defensive when I called recently to re-enquire) and my condom broke as I topped him. It couldn't have been for more than 1-2 minutes but I didn't realize it had happened until I pulled out and noticed I had ripped straight through it. Also I should say that I hadn't sleep for 24 hours before that and fear that my immune system might have been low as a result. Anyway, 7 days later i started to feel extremely rundown and unwell. I started having hot and cold flushes throughout my body. Most notably my arms and hands would alternately flush ice cold and then I'd get a flush of warmth and felt really light-headed throughout the day. I didn't have chills just that weird flushing that lasted a day or two. Sometimes I'd experience blurred vision in the light. I immediately started taking my temperature but it never increased. In fact it stayed around 97.6 (even bought too different thermometers to be sure.) I still went to class and work every day and it was NOTHING like having mono but I was very nervous because I was definitely coming down with something. Five days later they symptoms went away. My question is when do ARS symptoms usually begin. In one post you say 1-3 weeks but then in the others I've read you 2-4 weeks. In your experience is it 1) possib