Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

window period
Nov 2, 2010

Hi Dr. Frascino,

I wrote to you recently regarding an indeterminant western blot test I had, which was followed by a negative elisa test two weeks later. You said that I should not be concerned because I have had no exposure to my knowledge and the elisa test confirmed my negative status. The problem is that I can't get closure on this for some reason because I keep wondering what could have caused an indeterminant blot test, considering I did not have any of the symtoms mentioned (ie: pregnant, flu shot recently, lime disease, etc.) I just keep thinking what if, what if, what if. It's driving me cazy!

I went back to get a SECOND elisa test 7 weeks after my original indeterminant blot test. The test yielded a negative result once again. I just need to hear from you there was enough time inbetween the tests that if I really had had an exposure which cause an indeterminant blot test, something would have showed up on an elisa 7 weeks later. Thank you so much for your help and and guidance in understanding how these tests work. I feel like I'm going crazy!

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,