Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Please help out a fellow physician
Nov 2, 2010

Hi dr bob. Please help me get out of a rut. I've been on a low lately. I'm a surgery resident and I have written you before about a similar problem. There was a recent scenario that happened an I really would appreciate your opinion on the matter. I know that I should consult occupational health for all potential incidents but I don't think that an average person would consider this a true incident which is why I want your opinion. I do have a OCD and have gotten psychological help for this problem. I have actually been much better until this most recent incident. I was in surgery and everything went well. While I was examining the next patient I noticed a cut on my dorsal hand. It was relatively fresh and I didn't know how I cut myself. When I cleaned with alcohol it really burned and right before my last patient when I alcoholed my hands I did not have any burning so I know that it was fresh. Now I'm nervous that maybe I cut my hand without noticing during the surgery and I am worried about HIV or hepatitis. I do not know the patient it was since this happened a while ago and I figured that my anxiety would lessen over time but it has not. I'm still quite anxious about the whole scenario.