Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Thank you for educating us about false positive HIV results!
Oct 14, 2010

Dr. Bob, I have learned so much from your writings about false positive HIV test. I am a healthy 46 year old female without any chronic illnesses. I caught pneumonia (my first time) in late August after returning from a strenuous mountain climb. My doctor thought it was taking me too long to recover, therefore, he wanted to run an HIV test just to be on the safe side.

The HIV tested positive with indeterminate Western Blot. I was shocked. I tested negative 2 years ago after a possible exposure at work (I am a registered nurse); and have tested negative several years prior. I have been celibate for 7 years, The WB repeated as indeterminate. I had a PCR DNA done by infectious disease and it is negative. The ID doctor says he is going to do the PCR RNA test only as a formality so he can close my chart and place "HIV negative" in it. He is convinced that I am HIV negative.

Prior to seeing the ID physician, I was questioning myself as a nurse. Did I somehow get exposed without paying attention? I had major anxiety and a panic attack that sent me to the ER where I work. Unfortunately, the ER physician's demeanor was anything but professional or caring. He made a judgement after viewing my initial positive HIV results.