Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Scratched by IV drug user
Jul 31, 2010

I am a resident physician and was seeing a patient on the medicine service last night. I was examining him with my gloves on when he reached out and scratched my knuckle on my hand through my glove. There was a small scratch that had a minimal amount of blood on it. I washed my hands with soap/water and alcohol. I ordered a rapid HIV test which was negative. Let us assume the worse and say he did have HIV, should I still be worried? Should I have used chemoprophylaxis? I have read your other posts and am ashamed to ask this since I am a physician, but I would like your expert opinion please. Thank you for being there for all these people who are seeking knowledge just like myself.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi Resident Physician,

It's always a bit difficult to evaluate a potential occupational exposure over the Internet, as we don't have the opportunity to get a detailed history, perform a physical examination or have access to medical charts, laboratory tests, etc. As with any potential occupational exposure, you should immediately report the incident so it can be documented, properly evaluated and treated if necessary. All medical training programs have policies and procedures in place to promptly evaluate and, if necessary, treat occupational exposures. Based on the limited information provided I strongly doubt you sustained a significant exposure or that PEP (post-exposure prophylaxis) would be warranted.

Several points would need clarification: