Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

possible exposure
Jul 25, 2010

Dear Dr.

Greetings. I would like to know if you can help me with a question that I have. About seven weeks ago, I did an incredibly stupid thing: I went to a massage parlor in Atlantic City and had protected sex with a CSW using a latex condom. I have never done this before or since. After returning home, I masturbated before showering.

About 2-3 weeks later (its hard to say exactly on what date), I began to have a strange symptom of pimples/ulcers-first two on my thigh then a crop on the shaft (but not the head of my penis). There are five in total. Three are quite tiny (white spots, really) and two had some red inflammation around them, were larger and raised.

A few days after that, I began to experienced a sunburn rash on the back of my neck and scalp. I know that I definitely did expose my back and neck to the sun for a long period of time but am concerned because I have read neck rash can also be a classic ars symptom. This lasted only a week. As my anxiety about having contracted HIV increased, I stopped eating and began loosing appetite (also having diarrhea.) I had severe anxiety, lack of sleep and night sweats too. At some point during this period, my temperature was slightly elevated to about 99 F. All of these symptoms seemed to end immediately with the anxiety drugs.