Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Salaam from Charikar-Afghanistan, I have arrived at your door step
May 28, 2010

Respected Dr.Robert, kindly accept my salutation.I am a resident of Charikar, here in Northern afghanistan.It really goes without saying that indeed this region is in absolute tatters.With the soviets marauding in the 1980's and eventually the taliban diktats strangulating the hapless residents.Sir, I was away in neighbouring India a few days ago.While I was there, I heard from an accompanying friend that in the government hospital located close to our hotel, the authorities were conducting mass immunization against H1N1.Naturally we decided to go ahead and get vaccinated, as it really would be quite difficult to avail this facility back in Charikar.We arrived at the hospital a little after noon, and stood in the que for our turn.When I eventually reached the desk to get the shot, I was asked to roll my sleeve upwards and in a jiffy the needle sank into my arm before I could make some enquiries.Not to mention, I was more or less pushed and shoved forwards to accomodate the next subject.As I was walking away, I enquired with a attendent at the door if fresh syringes were being used for each patient, and she answered in the affirmative.Now, about 10 days after having the vaccination, I have developed diarrhoea, about 6-8 episodes for the last three days.Now suddenly, almost out of nowhere I have been struck with the possibility of having been injected with a REUSED NEEDLE!.I become panic striken, each time I reminisce the day I got vaccinated and keep wond