Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Possible exposure during surgery
Apr 13, 2010

Hi Dr Bob,

I asked this question a few weeks back. I didn't get a response, but I'll give it another try. I'm a third year medical student, and in February I was doing a rotation in general surgery. We had to do a laparascopic cholecystectomy on an HIV/Hep C positive patient. I forgot to wear those surgical shoe covers for the surgery. When the surgeon put a drain in the abdomen, some blood came out from the other end and landed near my feet. There was a little puddle of blood near my feet, but I don't think any blood fell directly on my shoes. I'm worried about the potential of blood spattering on my shoes and soaking through. I've been obsessing over this for the past month and a half, and I'm wondering if this is an exposure or not. I'm guessing not, but I'll leave it to you to advise me. I'm probably not going to get myself tested for this (as I'm sure I shouldn't), but I still can't get it out of my head.

Thanks for taking the time to answer this question. I know how busy you must be. Take care,

Michael.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi Michael,