Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Worried Student Need Advice Please
Apr 13, 2010

Doctor,

You deserve a lifetime achevement award for the meaningful you do here and with your Foundation. I am a worried student who would like your advice. I am not sexually active but am worried about a particular incident. Last week, I was walking along a street in South Africa at night when someone "brush" me on my left hand, and in particular, I felt a sharp tinge on the middle finger of the left hand. I turned around to look at who did it but that person had disappeared into an alley. My middle finger is bruised and some blood came out. It remains red, bruised and is aching. It is as if I was pricked by something. Because I am a visitor in a country that has a high rate of HIV cases, I am worried that I was pricked by an object (syringe/needle perhaps) that could lead to STD/HIV transmission. I am not sure what to do now as I have lost all sense of rationality after this incident. I do not think I suffer from any mental disorder but this incident concerns me. Thankful for your advice on this. Could STD/HIV be transmitted this way, and therefore should I go for testing? Or should I just let my finger heal, forget about this incident, and move on in life? I have some money I have saved up over the years which I wish to give to charity, and I would like to give it to your Foundation. It is not much but I hope it would help in some way. Thank you - Martin

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi Martin,