Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

New surgeon with some questions
Feb 27, 2010

HI dr bob. I have a general question for you. I'm a surgeon and have recently finished my residency training. As I am in the OR a lot I frequently used sharp instruments, needles, blades... Over my career thus far it has happened to me several times where I rub against an instrument accidentally an have thought about whethe ornithology this has posed any risk to my health. I always practice universal precautions and more times than not I think that I overanalyse the situations because for example my hand may brush up against a tool like a forceps and when I look after surgery I do not have any wound but I can't help think that maybe the instrument pricked me enough to put me at risk. This obviously can happen many times to me in a single surgery. Here are my questions for you: do you think I am overanalyzing the situations? I know that If I were to truly prick myself and induce bleeding then I would contact occupational health so this is reassuring to me. I just don't know when I should really be following up with occupational health because I feel like touching sharp instruments when they do not make me bleed is an insignificant exposure if any and I would know if I really put myself at risk by truly feeling my skin being pricked or cut. Is this a fair assessment. I'd really apreciate to hear what you honk about this. Thanks so much. I will donate to your charity for all your help

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello New Surgeon,

Congratulations on finishing your residency!