Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

What are my chances of having HIV
Jan 17, 2010

On 12/17/2010 I had a needle stick on my finger.I am a nurse at a clinic and I was going to demo for a patient how to use insulin and accidentally got stuck with a needle someone left without a cap in the insulin demo kit.We were using the same needles time and time again for demo. I was told that the needle was clean since we are not suppose to use them on patients, but I am concerned because it did not have a cap and when I reached into the insulin demo kit box I got stuck by the needle. I was breastfeeding my 6 month daughter and I stopped because I am scare I might have contracted HIV. I am aware the risk is minute but I am scared of putting her at any risk no matter how small. I had a needle stick in 2005 from a needle that was placed carelessly in a sharps container, I developed Hep C antibodies. I was tested for Hep C PCR and was negative and negative for RIBA. I was told by one doctor I recovered from an acute infection and by another doctor that it was a false positive. At that time it took 12 months for me to develop the antibodies. I'm not sure why it took so long. I think that it was related to my ANA being 1280 and DS DNA 15 without any other symptoms (the rheumatologist told me he cannot diagnose me as having lupus because all my other labs are normal and I have no symptoms he thinks ANA and DS DNA is high because of the hep C antibodies) or why the antibodies took so long to develop. I wanted to continue to breastfeed y daughter if my 3 month HIV antibody test came back negative but I am worried that it could take me 12 months to make antibo