Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App 
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

concerned about possible needlestick

Jan 9, 2010

Hi Dr Bob,

I'm a OR nurse who is really worried about a possible sharps injury. While scrubbed in during surgery, I think I may have punctured my gloves and finger with a sharp retractor that had been used in the patient. I didn't see any holes in either of my gloves (I always wear two pairs) and it appeared the my skin was intact as there was no bleeding or any visible punctures. I wasn't even sure whether or not I was stuck so stupidly, I didn't follow up with occupational health immediately and now my exposure is being treated as an unknown source exposure. I initially tested negative to hiv and hep C but will be tested again at 6 weeks, 12 weeks, and 6 months.

I know my risk is very low but I'm worried about the possibility of having either hep c or hiv that will not show up on tests at 6 mo. My long-term and committed partner is really worried as well- we plan on being as safe as humanly possible (condoms, barrier methods for oral sex, no deep kissing if either of us have any mouth sores) until 6 month results are back. Do you think this is over-vigilance or would you recommend proceeding the same way? Also, do you think its necessary to wait 6 months as the majority of people test positive for hiv in 3 months?

I'm sorry if these seem like silly questions and I *really really really* appreciate you getting back to me! Thank you so much again!

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello,