Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Need for retest?
Jan 3, 2010

Hello Dr. Bob, this is my first time posting here and I hope you can help me.

5 years ago (mid 2004) I suspected my husband of cheating on me with an ex-girlfriend. He told me back then they only talked on the internet, but when I spoke with her, she said they had unprotected sex once and then he ended things with her. For the next 3 years after that, I agonized over every little blemish, soreness, flu-like symptom I got and finally in June 2007 I went to the Damien Center here in my home town and took a rapid HIV test. It came back negative and I told my mind to leave it alone. I entered therapy because I had just lost my father as well and I felt my world crumbling around me.

So here we are (or were as of yesterday) in 2009. In March I was diagnosed with cheilosis which the dermatologist said was either an allergic reaction or stress. Then in November I was diagnosed with anal fissures and the doctor believes it's because of constipation or IBS.

Yesterday for some reason, my husband finally "fessed" up and told me that he had in fact, had unprotected sex with his ex 5 years ago. He has not been tested to date and when I had questioned her as to her status 5 years ago, she told me she was negative at her last test 5 months prior.