Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Possible vomit in eye
Nov 4, 2009

Dear Dr. Bob, I am a nursing student. I have developed an intense fear of both contracting and trasmitting bloodborne pathogens. I have read your archives and current posts extensively, and so I do feel my knowledge has increased considerably. Since I know many of my fears are irrational or focusing on the most nonexistent odds, I have been focusing on not playing into these fears and not allowing myself to freak out about things that are not a risk.

Today I was caring for a pediatric pt w/ H1N1 on contact and droplet isolation. He threw up into an emesis basin, and I took it into the bathroom, rinsed it, and dried it out.

When I was leaving the room and was removing the mask, gown, and gloves I had on, I reached up to remove the mask, and the tip of my finger touched the bottom lid of my eye. Now, of course, I was plagued with an internal struggle between freaking out about this or realizing that 1. wouldn't I have known if there were even visible fluid on my finger?, 2. HIV is not transmitted through vomit, and 3. even if it were, it would have been at least a few minutes between him throwing up and me *possibly* touching my eye or bottom eyelid.

I read your archives again as soon as I returned home and that confirmed that HIV is not transmitted in vomitus - a risk only exists if there is visible blood present. Looking back, I'm relatively certain I removed my gloves before removing my mask, which would make it a nonexistent risk.