Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

risk of transmision of a health care student PLEASE HELP ME
Jul 8, 2009

Hi my name is Daniel and I am a med student in Colombia,2 month ago during my intership in the ER, a patient with an unknown HIV status came to the ER since he had a head injury, one of the doctors in the ER was applying lidocaine to his scalp in order to close his injury, AS HE TRIED TO INJECT his scalp he pressed hard and some anesthesia from the area he was applying it in the head, I think mixed with a little blood, flew in the air and hit my eye, a drop I think. I immideatly washed myself my eye with lots of water. Its been two month and I am worried sick of having contracted HIV, is this a big risk shall I b worried what should I do. Another thing that worries me is that I had to sexual encounters with my girlfriend unprotected, and I worry that I could transmit her something in case I got infected with that drop of lidocaine(maybe mixed with unknown status blood. Should i be worried about me and her? please help me

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi Daniel,