Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Question re: PEP and Occupational Exposures
May 10, 2009

Hi Dr Frascino,

I'm a medical student who is worried about a potential occupational exposure. This evening when I was taking a train to meet some friends a man had a seizure and collapsed in front of me. I assisted him and after slowly declining in conscious state over a few minutes he ceased breathing. I cleared his airways and performed CPR for approximately five minutes, where upon he resumed spontaneous respiration and regained consciousness. He refused any further medical treatment once the train had stopped and an ambulance arrived. The man in question was obviously intoxicated and had obvious signs of IV drug abuse - multiple track marks, etc. After the incident, I noticed that I had several recent cuts on the fingers I used to clear his airway - fresh red tissue was still visible, but the wounds were not actively bleeding. While I noticed no frank blood in his mouth or on on my hands, the fact that he had a seizure and fall (potentially striking/biting himself) in combination with his obvious history of IVDU had me concerned. I attended a nearby hospital and asked for recommendations regarding the incident. They took blood for baseline antibody tests and stated that PEP was not necessary. While the realist in me knows that the chances of 1: him having a blood borne virus and 2: it being transmitted to me via the route in question are both very low, I still find myself extremely worried about the situation.