Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV test in Hong Kong
May 9, 2009

Hi Dr Frascino

Thank you very much for your kind attention!

I am a 25 year old male nurse from Hong Kong. I had a receptive oral (unprotected) and receptive anal sex (protected with condom) with an English man with unknown HIV status in September 2008 i.e. 8 months ago. I was worried about HIV infection afterwards although I presume the risk is very low. Since I am a nurse, I am very afraid of being recognized by my colleagues and past schoolmates in the HIV clinic so I didn't go there for HIV tests. Instead, I donated blood 2 months and 5 3/4 months after the potential exposure (I confess that it is a very bad behaviour but I really have no choice). Nobody told me my blood is abnormal so I suppose the HIV tests are negative. The HIV screening for donated blood in my country uses Nucleic acid based tests (NAT) in addition to those conventional tests. Are those tests accurate enough to ensure I am not infected? Do I need to re-test again or test for some HIV strains possibly not covered by routine screening e.g. HIV-1 group O? Thank you very much!

Again, I deeply condemn myself for abusing blood donation for HIV tests but I really have no choice. The discrimination against gay and HIV related issues is very active here in Hong Kong. I am very sorry:(

Thank you and best wishes!

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello,