Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Best studies showing the effectivness of condoms?
Apr 28, 2009

I am currently a student at a catholic high school that must endure the chastity program. Most of what they teach in Religion is decently good (don't kill, don't steal, etc.) and the unrealistic bible stories are easy to ignore, but the chastity education program is getting ridiculous. They are downright lying to us. From telling us that there are tiny holes in condoms that allow HIV to pass through to telling us that abortion causes breast cancer, it is getting insane. Not only that but then they go on to tell us that 50% of people wait until marriage to have sex and that homosexuals are horrible people. I take great offense to this statement. One of my best friends since I was a little kid is gay and he is in a happy relationship. And these are the people whose 8th commandment tells them not to lie... I was wondering if you could point me in the direction of some recent, large studies that disprove the lies mentioned above? I would like to bring them to the attention of my teacher and see what her responses are. After all, she used to be a science teacher, she has to know that these things are lies. I worry about the other people in my class and whether or not they will go off to college next year condemning homosexuals and thinking condoms have tiny holes in them. Thank you so much for all of the great information found on this website.

-Bethany

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi Bethany,