Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Nervous medical student with a few questions!!!
Apr 23, 2009

Hi Dr. Bob,

Just want to start off by saying that you are the best doctor around, and your forum is amazing and such a help to so many people!!! I am a medical student, and I have some questions regarding HIV. I find that since I have started my clinical rotations, I have had some fears about contracting blood borne infections. There have been several occasions where I thought that I may have contracted infections, and I contacted occupational health and they reassured me for these times. I would really appreciate your opinion on a few of my situations, and either you could tell me that I have OCD and my fears are unwarranted or that they are rational and I'm not crazy. I do try to practice universal precautions when I can, but of course I am human and mistakes have been made in the past. I love medicine, and although I do have some fears, I plan on continuing in medicine.