Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

New fella - when do I tell him?
Apr 19, 2009

Hi, I've been HIV+ for the last 12 months and feel that I've dealt with it quite well. I've managed to discuss it quite well with my family and with work who have been fantastic (suprised me as I'm a teacher and was expecting them to freak!)

Any way the one area that I don't feel as confident with is relationships! I've had one since and this was with some one who knew and dealt with it very well telling me it made no difference etc... but ultimately it didn't work out. Now the big problem I have is how and when to tell the bloke that I'm now very interested in. He doesn't live near me so not even sure if a long distance thing will work out, but morally before we do anything I feel obligated to tell him, though have bad experiences of telling sexual partners before. Sounds silly bit I just don't know what to do! Have had advice from friends and family, some who say tell him before and some who say, as long as I'm safe there is no harm in not telling him!

Manchester (UK) lad

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hey Manchester Lad,

Disclosure is never easy and everyone's situation is unique. Personally I recommend disclosing sooner rather than later. Also please know that if a potential partner runs for the hills when you disclose your status, he's rejecting the virus, not you.

For more specific advice, review the information in the archives of this forum. We have an entire chapter devoted to disclosure! I'll reprint a sample below.

Dr. Bob