Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

I'm new to this.
Apr 7, 2009

My 18 year old nephew just got diagnosed this year with HIV. I feel so helpless because I no nothing about the virus. I had an incident yesterday where he and I were talking, and he coughed right in my face. I could feel the air from the cough go RIGHT INTO my eye. If there was blood in his mouth from a bitten tongue or cheek would this cause infection?

I checked my eye in my mirror about 5 minutes later and didn't see any splats of blood on my face, but what if it already made it's way into my eye?

I will donate $50 for the answer the this question. I want to educate myself doctor, please. I want to hug my nephew and kiss him like I used to. Please help me..us.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello "New to this",

Twenty-eight years into the pandemic that has snuffed out over 25,000,000 lives and infected more than 60,000,000 people worldwide and you "know nothing about the virus????" Auntie where have you been for the past quarter century???? It's unfortunate that it takes a family member or personal friend becoming infected with HIV before many people give this epic ongoing human tragedy a second thought!