Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Symptoms 2 days after finishing PEP.
Mar 31, 2009

Hello Doctor, I am a full time pre-med student/ part time worker. I love what you are doing with this website, very helpful!

I had insertive anal sex with a sex worker of unkwon status about a month ago. The whole act lasted for no more than 10 secs before I realized I was doing something wrong and pulled out; there was no visible blood present.

I went to to the ER within the 72 hours and I was started on the Kaletra/Truvada regimen for 28 days; I got through the regimen with only minor side effects and finished 6 days ago.

Now, here are my questions:

1. Do you consider my exposure to be high risk?

2. 2 days after stopping PEP I developed a runny/very stuffy nose with post nasal drip, a mild sore throat, some greenish discharge through the nose and what I describe as bad sinus headache(with some pressure on the face and forehead); I had a fever of 101 on the second night after developing these symptoms which quickly went away after taking 2 Advils. Then I had a second fever of 99.5 on the third night; then no more fever after that. I noticed a very small little ball with no pain (lymph node) just below my left ear which I have not felt there before and the lymph node below the back part of my right mandibular felt tender and with some mild pain when touched.