Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Not your usual "symptoms question" (NATURAL HISTORY OF HIV, 2009)
Mar 16, 2009

I will proudly donate for a simple answer. I'm studying more about HIV since my friend got recently diagnosed. I'm confused about one topic...symptoms.

Am I understanding this correctly.. First someone would get ARS (Which is 2-4 weeks after infection lasting 2-4 weeks, or so) Then this person will not get symptoms for about 8-10 years.

So basically the only symptoms are the ARS and the symptoms years later? Not really in between? People will usually feel healthy after they get ARS? I also understand some people will not even get ARS. I understand that people don't know if they are infected because symptoms dont usually occur shortly after ARS.

Donation to follow, you've helped me more than you'll even know. Thanks again!

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,

HIV disease can vary considerably from individual to individual. I can (and will) describe for you HIV's natural history, but remember not every case fits neatly into this schematic.

1. Primary HIV infection is the first stage of HIV. HIV is transmitted and within two to three weeks symptoms of acute retroviral syndrome (ARS) appear. During ARS HIV-antibody tests may be negative, but the HIV plasma viral load is usually sky high making this a particularly dangerous time for HIV transmission to others.