Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Family Med Resident
Oct 6, 2008

Dr. Bob,

I am a family medicine resident in a city that has a very high infection rate per CDC stats. And as reported, the great majority of those infected are African American. As part of the complete H&P I always ask my patients social hitory which includes a sexual history, number of partners, safer sex practices, etc. Unfortunately, and I am not trying to be racist, not one of my African American female patients trusts their partner and almost all of them say that their partner has cheated on them. Being a white person, how do I convey the message of taking care of oneself, using condoms, getting tested along with the fact that the African American population has the fastest growing incidence of HIV/AIDS. I want my patients to be safe, strong, informed, and not add to the numbers. I hope I am making sense.

FM PGY2

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello FM PGY2,