Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Need an answer and need donation info.
Jun 18, 2008

Hi Dear dr.Rob

I had sex with CSW back in april . It was Protected sex . As this is my first time , I had that bad feeling of guilty . I am a husband and a father . I used Latex COndom and the pentration was only for 30 seconds then I ejaculate out of her and I checked the condom and it was intakt . I am pretty sure that I tried to force the semen to be in the top of the condom and nothing pass a way . I asked some ppl and some dr.s and they all told me no need for test coz I am in no risk . but I wanted to make my self in better mood. So I did test in 6,7,8 and 9 weeks and they all was negative ( Thanks God ) .

I also had ABBOTT COMBO HIV P24/Ab Test in the 4 weeks mark and it was negative also ( thanks God) . I want your answers to my questions:

1- Did I had any risk in your opinion? 2- What about my HIV Rapid tests in 6,7,8 and 9 weeks which was by using the serum? 3- What Do you think of my Combo test at 4 weeks, I heard that this test is recommended by the Factory at 28 days? 5- CAN I HAAA HOOO AND HAVE NORMAL LIFE WITH MY WIFE ?

Note: I didn't feel any symptoms at all .

Please Dr. I want your Answer .

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,

1. Assuming the latex condom was used properly and did not break, your HIV-acquisition risk would be essentially nonexistent. HIV cannot permeate intact latex. No way. No how.