Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

a nuts medical student...please humor me.
Jun 10, 2008

Dr. Bob,

I have written you a few times before. I am really hoping you give me a little insight. My situation is this: I had an exposure consisting of unprotected vaginal intercourse (against my will..currently pressing charges..but not the point). After the exposure, I was tested at baseline in the ER, had a 3 week undetectable RNA PCR, and a 10 week negative rapid antibody test. I should be encouraged, right? Well, I am not really. This is because I am currently studying for my boards (USMLE 1). I am memorizing way too much without having any practical experience. I have had no symptoms except for tons of small lymph nodes in my groin. I am convinced that the virus entered the cells of the vaginal mucosa, infected dendritic cells, and finally made its way to the inguinal nodes. Now, I think the virus is replicating there because those are the lymphatics closest to the site of innoculation. I am trying to study, but end up looking at nothing except the mechanism of HIV infection. Could my lymph node thoughts be correct? Are several <1cm inguinal nodes ever non-pathologic?

I know you must think I am out of my mind for thinking this far into it. However, I also know that at some point you MAY have been a hypochondriacal medical student, and therefore might sympathize with my sad state. Thanks for all you do.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello Nuts Medical Student,