Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Performing and HIV+. How well do they mix?
Jun 9, 2008

Hi Dr. Bob.

If you can read IP addresses, you will notice I have written to you in past ocassions. I am will, my partner cheated last year, got HIV. We had unprotected sex but I remained uninfected. I collected 3 negative results at 3, 8 and 13 weeks and don't plan to continue the anxiety for another 3 months, so I think I am done with testing.

My concern is in regards to the piano. I am a pianist myself and just come from a small tour I gave in my country (I'll send link of me playing to a private address if you feel like it) and all this HIV story I lived made me think how could I go on with my professional life taking potent antiretrovirals with side-effects day after day, If I had the virus. I know from his relaives that the bulgarian pianist Alexis Weissenberg got HIV sometime down the road. I obviously can't prove it but I think it may be a cause why he started to perform less and less. In your case, how did it go? Did you had the piano carrier you hoped for? are HAART's side-effects strong enough to make a carrier impossible? Do you know of other stage performers that have HIV and had to quite their job because of it?

I guess you can answer " I don't know, everybody is different" but the point of my question is: Is it realistic for someone that devotes themselves to a very physically, mentally and spiritually demanding activity to continue going on in the long term when HIV and HAART is present? is the answer " just try and see what happens" or is there more to it?