Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

indeterminate negative
May 13, 2008

hi i am a police officer so for a saftey issue i decided to get tested for hiv. i figured why not thinking i would be fine. my first test result for hiv-1 ab western blot came back indeterminate negative with reactive p24. my doc tested me again and the hiv-1 ab came back indeterminate negative with weakly reactive p24 the other test hiv 2 antibody eia came back non-reactive and the hiv 1 rna qn pcr came back in range. my doc is sending me to an infectious disease doc because she is unsure if i am negative. i am losing my mind and i have no symptoms and feel find but i am super scared. can you please tell me if i am negative? my doc said she thinks i am negative but because of my line of work she is sending me to an infectious disease doc. please help

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello,

It's a bit difficult for me to determine what you mean by "indeterminate negative with reactive p24." Was your HIV-1 antibody test repeatedly reactive (positive) and the follow-up Western Blot indeterminate, showing only a p24 protein band? Or perhaps your HIV-1 antibody test was negative (non-reactive), but a Western Blot was done anyway (inappropriately) and revealed the p24 band.