Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Re: In Dire Need of Woohoo Karma
Apr 19, 2008

Dr. Frascino,

First of all, I want to thank you for answering my previous question. You did help alleviate some of my fears. I shared your post (and a hug) with my wife. As I stated earlier, she has forgiven me and does not share my fears of HIV infection. She is confident that I am OK. Unfortunately, I, like the many other worried folks, am still concerned. I am counting the days until I can give you a Woo-Hoo!

In the meantime, I do have a couple more questions. I have been fighting prostatitis on and off for three years. I had a recent flare-up (around the time of my low-risk exposure) and was prescribed Bactrim. Unfortunately, I learned that I am allergic to that and am now on another antibiotic. The Bactrim gave me a rash, very sore mouth and joints. My questions are: 1) Does having prostatitis increase my chances of acquiring HIV? 2) Could these symptoms I described be related to ARS?

I really hope you can answer these for me. Although my wife has forgiven my transgression, she is getting tired of my being worried so much. We both look forward to your response.

P.S. I have already made the first of my donations to your foundation. I admire all that you do.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,

1. No, prostatitis does not increase your chances of acquiring HIV. It's a fairly deep-seated gland and not related to the superficial areas where HIV transmission occurs.

2. The symptoms you describe are very consistent with a Bactrim reaction and there is no reason to suspect they are anything but that.