Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Another nurse question..
Mar 20, 2008

Ok, I checked the forums...you have been helping people a long time-wow-what a great service you offer to the public!

I am an ICU nurse-recently cared for an aids pt (did not know this at the time), and I actually did not find out until 2 weeks later :-(, anyway..I started iv's on her-took me 3 pokes and finally got her iv on the last try-well as you prob. know a little but of blood almost always flows from the catheter hub while connecting the tubing..here's the problem...I always(NOT anymore) used to tear one finger of my glove off to be able to feel the vein on "hard to stick" pt's-I am about 99% positive that I didn't get any blood on me or my finger during this procedure but being it was over 2 weeks ago-I can't fully remember...I had dry skin with some "cuts" from the winter cold on my hands at the time(I think they were like 3 days old)-I called the health dept. at work and they didn't really want to do anything because they didn't think it was an exposure and it was 2 weeks later...what do you think-exposure? I am sure I am being silly..and I know I have prob. taken care of many pt's with hiv/aids-but hearing that diagnosis is scary, esp. since I was not being as careful as I should be...what do you think? Any suggestions?

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,

I would make only two brief points: