Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

PLEASE ANSWER A WORRIED MOM and NURSE!!!! HELPME..please!
Jan 14, 2008

I have tried to contact you so many times, but with no luck. I am so worried about my situation. I am a student nurse who works with HIV+ patients. One day about six weeks ago the doctors were doing a bone marrow biopsy andleft the patients bed soaked with blood and with needles. I wore a gown and double gloved to change the bed and clean the patient. Now I can't stop thinking about it. I'm certain I have HIV because I'm worried that maybe I got stuck with a needle or blood went in my eye as I changed the bed. Two weeks later I developed a stuffy nose, swollen tonsils with white spots, swollen lymph nodes in my neck, a mild fever, and an itchy rash. I breastfeed my baby and I'm worried to death she might have got it too. she also has swollen lymph nodes in her neck. Now am not breastfeeding and I can't even sleep. I beg you please give me some advice.

What are the possibilities I have HIV? Am I just paranoid? Should I take a test? Is a home access HIV test at 6 weeks conclusive? What do you recommend? Sorry for asking too much...but You have no idea how grateful I will be with you when you set my mind at peace. Thanks a million in advance. Also, thanks for all the work you do...i know you're a busy guy.

worried mom...

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello Worried Mom/Student Nurse,