Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

For all the people on the window period, Dr. Bob Please post
Jan 11, 2008

The question of windows period post-exposure is one of the most common ones on these boards. I've spent some time doing investigation. I am a scientist by trade, although not a biologist nor medical doctor.

The first thing that struck me is the lack of recent studies to reaffirm the current guidelines of 13 weeks. Especially as tests have improved over time. I've found only one well-written study and it is this one (published: 2000) http://www.aidsonline.com/pt/re/aids/fulltext.00002030-200010200-00014.htm;jsessionid=GpvJP3Q2p2xvCGsVJg2yylpMDpM5nV62XVcl0zWMchp922jmlCKF!-756477024!181195629!8091!-1

What they did is used a series of blood draws from people that would turn out to be HIV infected, and ran them against a set of HIV tests. They used modern tests of the time (1997) as well as data from tests in 1987. A few interesting observations: