Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Indeterminate WB w/No Bands
Nov 9, 2007

Negative Ora-Sures, Reactive Elisa and Indeterminate negative WB.

Hi Doctor Frascino, thank you for this work. I'm going to be blunt about some things that aren't pretty, in the interest of clarity.

I am a 20-something professional African American woman. I had vaginal and anal intercourse with and without a condom with two different White hetero males in their early 20's on two different occasions four or five months ago. I have done so a few times with one of these men off and on over the last year. The other was a one time encounter. Neither ejaculated inside me, but I was exposed to their semen near mucuos membranes and their pre-come in my vagina and rectum. I have a hemorrhoid that bleeds occasionally, so there is a compromise in the intestinal lining. I haven't been with anyone else since those times 4 or 5 months ago.

I took an Ora-Sure rapid result test about a month ago (3-4 months after my last risky sex), which was negative. Last week I had a full STD workup as part of a screening process for a volunteer program, and I showed positive for HSV I/II (though I haven't had an outbreak) PLUS for my HIV screening I had a reactive Elisa with an "indeterminate negative" WB. After some research here, I called back and asked my nurse what bands showed up on my indeterminate WB, and she said "none". Everything I'd read seemed to suggest that no bands would be a negative result, so I'm a little confused about that.