Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV+ Baby's Blood Spilled on my Arms!
Oct 12, 2007

Dr. Bob:

I am a pre-med student with an HIV question I am unsure of, and I actually teach HIV Prevention at my college's campus.

Here goes:

I was volunteering for a doctor I've been shadowing for 5 years. She asked me to hold a baby for a (may I say hot as hell young) nurse who was setting up an IV on the baby's leg since its arms' veins were too miniscule to accurately draw from.

Anyway, I was not wearing gloves, and somehow the butterfly needle came off the plastic pre-setup, and within a few seconds, my arms and hands were drenched in this baby's blood, and some droplets splashed onto my face, and to my horror, even my eyes. I stormed out of the room, overtly furious at the nurse, and saw the doctor I shadow get nervous quickly when she saw me covered in blood.

It turns out, the baby was HIV positive (the poor thing's mother is a local 17 yo Af-Am crack-whore).

The doctor had me wash and scrub down with betadine twice, and then finally with soap a third time. She then inspected me for cuts and found none. Although, we did notice I had a large not-yet-healed sore from a picked hangnail on one finger. Hence, my worries!

The Doc said she felt a PEP was not necessary, nor was a rapid response antibody test. This was 2 months ago. I'm nervous as hell anyway.

Do you think I'm at risk, and if so, which test should I get in a month (assuming you'd recommend the 3 month mark)?