Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Contact
Sep 17, 2007

Hello, my question isn't in this category at all... I just had to say I've been reading your responses to various questions and you are so clever! Your responses are calming, and hysterical! To be able to make some sort of humor out of these situations is all anyone can hope to do, and I admire you for it. I'm a student in college, just working on a master's, and I have finally tested for HIV after some risky unprotected vaginal intercourse (I am female) and I am awaiting the test results from the county. I didn't really know where to turn, but to be brutally honest just typing this and getting it out to see written there in front of me is support in its own. Whatever my test results, I would really really like to get involved in education of hiv prevention etc. Could you do me the favor doctor of telling me directly a way to get involved instead of the whirlwind route? I'm eager and would love love it if I could arrange anything through you whatever that might be. I am from Jacksonville, Florida. Thanks so much,

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,

My responses are "calming and hysterical???" Hmmm . . . the image of someone being "hysterically calm" or "calmly hysterical" is rather amusing. As for my approach, I agree with author Paul Rudnick when he said, "Only money, rage, and science can conquer AIDS. But only laughter can make the nightmare bearable." Personally I use all four money, rage, science and humor!