Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Possible Occupational Exposure and Testing
Aug 8, 2007

Hi - I am a police officer from Australia.

17 days ago I attended a car accident where a female passenger in the car received some cuts/scratches to her knuckles in the accident. Her fingers were bleeding quite lightly.

After speaking with the female, who touched the front of my shirt when talking to me, I noticed a small amount of blood on the shirt. I did not come into contact with her skin or blood - the only time I touched her was on the shoulder for a second when I was speaking with her. She was wearing a leather jacket.

I am now concerned that there may have been a small amount of blood on her jacket which I could have come in contact with and did not see as her jacket was black. I did not see any blood on my hands (although I did not check thoroughly) but afterwards I rubbed anti-bacterial hand gel into my hands just in case.

I had some small scratches/scabs on the backs of my hands from doing some work on the house. They were not open sores - they had formed scabs.

What is the chance of contracting HIV in this instance (I am not aware of the lady's HIV status)?

What is the earliest type of test I can take? Due to the anxiety I am suffering re. this I need to take a test as soon as possible - perhaps NAT / PCR? How effective would this be and when can it be taken?

In Australia, the laboratory that does the HIV tests (Ag/Ab) say that infection is excluded if taken 6 weeks or more after exposure however you say 3 months. Which is correct?